Boys who are in third grade or 9 years old are placed in a Bear Den. The Bear program teaches boys faith, citizenship, family fun, cooking, safety, physical fitness, communication skills, crafts, leadership, and knot tying.

During this year, scouts will earn their Bear badge. Optionally, they may also work on elective activities. If the boy is new to scouting, he needs to earn a Bobcat badge before he can start working towards the Bear badge.

Each scout should have a Bear Handbook which may be purchased locally at the Hibbard Memorial Scout Shop, 985 W Filmore Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80904 719-634-4342 or online at

Bear Badge

A boy must complete 12 of the following 24 achievements in order to earn a Bear badge:

  1. Ways We Worship
  2. Emblems of Faith
  3. What Makes America Special?
  4. Tall Tales
  5. Sharing Your World with Wildlife
  6. Take Care of Your Planet
  7. Law Enforcement is a Big Job
  8. The Past Is Exciting and Important
  9. What’s Cooking?
  10. Family Fun
  11. Be Ready
  12. Family Outdoor Adventures
  13. Saving Well, Spending Well
  14. Ride Right
  15. Games, Games, Games!
  16. Building Muscles
  17. Information, Please
  18. Jot It Down
  19. Shavings and Chips
  20. Sawdust and Nails
  21. Build a Model
  22. Tying It All Up
  23. Sports, Sports, Sports!
  24. Be a Leader

Bobcat Badge

No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can be awarded a Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos badge. In order to receive a Bobcat badge, a boy must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the Cub Scout Promise and complete the Honesty Character Connection.
  2. Say the Law of the Pack and tell what it means.
  3. Tell what Webelos means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout sign and tell what it means.
  5. Show the Cub Scout handshake and tell what it means.
  6. Say the Cub Scout motto “Do Your Best!”
  7. Give the Cub Scout salute and tell what it means.
  8. Complete a “Bobcat Requirement” listed in the Cub Scout Handbook.