The Webelos den is divided into Webelos I and Webelos II. Boys who are in fourth grade or 10 years old are placed into the Webelos I den. Boys who are in fifth grade or 11 years old are placed into the Webelos II den.

The Webelos program is a transitional program that shifts the emphasis from the home-centered activities of Tiger, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts to group-centered activities. The Webelos program prepares your son for his later participation in Boy Scouting.

Webelos Scouts don’t do achievements and electives as younger boys in Cub Scouting do. As a Webelos Scout, your son’s progress will take place through activities centered around his advancement. He’ll advance by earning activity badges and other awards.

As a Webelos Scout, your son will work towards the Webelos badge, the Compass Points Emblem and Cub Scouting’s highest award – the Arrow of Light.

Each scout should have a Webelos Handbook which may be purchased locally at the Hibbard Memorial Scout Shop, 985 W Filmore Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80904 719-634-4342 or online at scoutstuff.org

Webelos Badge

In order to earn a Webelos badge, a boy needs to earn activity badges, each one from a different activity badge group. Two of the badges must be Fitness (Physical Skills group), and Citizen (Community Group). The remaining activity badge may be from the Mental Skills, Technology, or Outdoor Group.

Compass Points Emblem

The Compass Points emblem is awarded after a boy has earned the Webelos badge and four additional activity badges, for a total of seven. After receiving the emblem, a metal “compass point” is added to it for each additional four activity badges earned.

Arrow of Light Award

The Arrow of Light Award is the high test rank in Cub Scouting. To earn this rank, a boy needs a total of eight activity badges, including Citizen, Readyman, Fitness, and Outdoorsman. The total must include at least one activity badge from each of the five activity badge groups. After earning the Arrow of Light, the boy may join a boy scout troop.

Bobcat Badge

No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can be awarded a Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos badge. In order to receive a Bobcat badge, a boy must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the Cub Scout Promise and complete the Honesty Character Connection.
  2. Say the Law of the Pack and tell what it means.
  3. Tell what Webelos means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout sign and tell what it means.
  5. Show the Cub Scout handshake and tell what it means.
  6. Say the Cub Scout motto “Do Your Best!”
  7. Give the Cub Scout salute and tell what it means.
  8. Complete a “Bobcat Requirement” listed in the Cub Scout Handbook.