Boys who are in second grade or 8 years old are placed in a Wolf Den. The Wolf program teaches boys physical fitness, citizenship, personal hygiene, safety, crafts, respect for the outdoors, cooking, family fun, faith, and making good choices.

During this year, scouts will earn their Wolf badge. Optionally, they may also work on elective activities. If the boy is new to scouting, he needs to earn a Bobcat badge before he can start working towards the Wolf badge.

Each scout should have a Wolf Handbook which may be purchased locally at the Hibbard Memorial Scout Shop, 985 W Filmore Street, Colorado Springs, CO 80904 719-634-4342 or online at scoutstuff.org.

Wolf Badge

To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass the following 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills:

  1. Feats of Skill
  2. Your Flag
  3. Keep Your Body Healthy
  4. Know Your Home and Community
  5. Tools for Fixing and Building
  6. Start a Collection
  7. Your Living World
  8. Cooking and Eating
  9. Be Safe at Home and on the Street
  10. Family Fun
  11. Duty to God
  12. Making Choices

Bobcat Badge

No matter what age or grade a boy joins Cub Scouting, he must earn his Bobcat badge before he can be awarded a Tiger, Wolf, Bear, or Webelos badge. In order to receive a Bobcat badge, a boy must do the following:

  1. Learn and say the Cub Scout Promise and complete the Honesty Character Connection.
  2. Say the Law of the Pack and tell what it means.
  3. Tell what Webelos means.
  4. Show the Cub Scout sign and tell what it means.
  5. Show the Cub Scout handshake and tell what it means.
  6. Say the Cub Scout motto “Do Your Best!”
  7. Give the Cub Scout salute and tell what it means.
  8. Complete a “Bobcat Requirement” listed in the Cub Scout Handbook.